Seurasaaren Kruunu´s history

On the Meilahti estate´s previous pasture land, high on a rocky hill in 1890, rose a decorative restaurant building built out of logs. The ancient Scandinavian style building was designed by the architect of Seurasaari, Frithiof Mieritz. The building was the island´s most expensive build, increased by such extensive embankment work and the construction of handsome stone steps. The building was the first of its kind in Seurasaari and it has history dating back to the times before Seurasaari open-air museum. A decked terrace was built later, which hid some the original look. During Helsinki´s Olympic games in 1952, a cafe section was built as an addition. Despite a few renovations, the restaurant´s party hall and second floor cabinets are in original condition.

The old dining hall´s second floor features maxims displayed on the walls in both Finnish and Swedish. The restaurant´s old half and the second floor´s cabinets offer historic and unique settings for parties, meetings as well as representations.